Omah Lay – Understand

Download Understand Video by Omah Lay

Nigerian singer, songwriter and record producer, Stanley Omah Didia better known as Omah Lay release a new song “Understand” his first single of the year.

The new song, “Understand” serves as his first official single in the year 2021. However, Omah Lay was last seen on a track titled “Peaches (Masterkraft Remix)“, a song originally owned by Justin Bieber. Produced by Tempoe, “Understand” is an uptempo record with addictive lyrics and Vibe, Omah Lay delivers yet another Godly Hit! This to whet fans and music listeners appetite while we await Omah’s album.

Omah Lay is becoming one of Nigeria’s most talked-about musical innovators with his darkly sparkling vocals, evocative storytelling, and contagious rhythms, Omah Lay’s brand of Afro-fusion pulls from his deep history with West Africa’s percussion-heavy highlife genre, as well as his enthusiasm for the popular sounds of his generation—from U.S. rap, to the Afrobeats empire flourishing in his home base of Lagos.

Raised in industrial Port Harcourt, a city infamous for oil-driven conflict, Omah Lay found comfort in the music around him. His grandfather was a percussionist in Celestine Ukwu’s legendary highlife band, and his father played, too. But it was hip-hop that inspired him to record. After becoming the neighbourhood go-to guy for beats and witnessing his tracks help others succeed, Omah Lay found his voice.

Throughout his breakthrough Get Layd EP, that seductive coo unravels tales that range from introspective to explicit, expertly laid over lush and soulful instrumentals that he often dreams up himself. Layered with vivid scenarios and heartfelt confessions, Omah Lay’s music depicts a young man daring to reveal his grittiest vices and innermost feelings. Moreover, with his roots dug in firmly beneath him and a global audience tuning into Lagos’ thriving scene, Omah Lay gives us a fascinating window into Afro-fusion’s bright and expansive future.

Last year,  after the huge success of his 2020 debut EP ‘Get Layd‘, Omah Lay hit the industry with another impressive EP titled “What Have We Done” 6 months after. The WHWD project housed the mega hit – GODLY. In June, Omah Lay announced dates and venues for his 2021 ‘The Purple Tour’. The trek will begin in New York, and work its way to San Francisco. Omah Lay released his self-produced debut single “Do Not Disturb” in April 2019. He won the Next Rated award at the 2020 Headies Awards.

Quotable Lyrics:

  • You don cut my weavon-on and dreah ah!
  • You make a boy sick and a boy well ah!
  • Nothing my eye see my mouth e don tell ah!
  • I enter rain coz I give you umbrella
  • I thought we in this together
  • Give you my necklace pendant
  • Give you my last card, you spend am
  • I show you my best friend, you friend am

Watch & Download Understand Video by Omah Lay Below:


You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.