Evidence – Unlearning Vol. 1 (Album)

Download Unlearning Vol. 1 Album by Evidence

American rapper and record producer, Michael Taylor Perretta, known professionally as Evidence set to release his new solo album project titled Unlearning, Vol. 1 on June 25. Set for release on Rhymesayers, the new project will include 14 tracks with features from Griselda’s Conway The Machine and Boldy James, Fly Anakin, Murkage Dave and Navy Blue, who collaborated with Yasiin Bey in December. The campaign picks up where the Dilated Peoples member’s song “Unlearning” left off following its release a year ago.

Unlearning Vol. 1 pairs Evidence’s own production with works from The Alchemist, Nottz, Sebb Bash, Animoss, Mr. Green, V Don, Khrysis, Daringer and EARDRUM (QThree). This highlights perhaps an undervalued skill of Ev’s—his ability to collaborate with a multitude of producers on a project, while still creating an album with a cohesion and consistency rarely found in such extensive collaboration. While the album’s musical soundscape sets the scene, it’s Ev’s gift for relatable yet inventively clever writing that really paints the picture, continually pulling the listener in. That said, a small but powerful cast of guest appearances also decorate the landscape, courtesy of stellar performances from Boldy James, Conway The Machine, Fly Anakin, Navy Blue, and Murkage Dave.

Evidence released his last solo album Weather or Not in January 2018, which boasted appearances from Styles P, Rapsody, Rakaa, Defari, Jonwayne, Slug and others. Names on the production side included DJ Premier, Nottz and DJ Babu. His previous Griselda collaborations include Boldy James’ “Grey October” off his The Price of Tea in China album with Alchemist, while producing Westside Gunn’s “Evidence Joint” and “Dance Floor Love.”

“I think some of it passed the time test and some of it didn’t as far as me being able to play that in 2020 right now and just be like, ‘Yes!’ he said. “But the thing I love the most about it is, at the time, when I did whatever rhyme I did or we finished whatever song we finished, I thought it was the best shit. I thought it was so fucking good. I love the arrogance and confidence and how much I believed in what we were doing at the time. That’s something as you get older, you learn more. But at that time you couldn’t tell me shit, and I love how confident I was in what I was doing.”

As a solo artist and one-third of Dilated Peoples, Evidence has established himself as one of hip-hop’s most accomplished rappers and producers, working with The Alchemist, Beastie Boys, WestsideGunn, Linkin Park, Rapsody, Aloe Blacc, Slug (of Atmosphere), among others. He’s also earned a Grammy Award for co-production on Kanye’s College Dropout and two JUNO Awards for his work with Canadian hip-hop group Swollen Members. In addition to 3 solo albums and 1 solo EP, he has also recorded and released five albums together with Rakaa Iriscience and DJ Babu (as Dilated Peoples), and one album with The Alchemist (as Step Brothers).

Evidence is set to release his 4th solo album, Unlearning Vol 1 this summer, 2021. He is from Venice, Los Angeles, California. He is also a member of the group Dilated Peoples, as well as being one-half of Step Brothers with The Alchemist. Before creating music, Perretta was a graffiti artist.

Unlearning Vol. 1 Album Tracklist:

  1. Better You
  2. Start the Day With a Beat
  3. Sharks Smell Blood
  4. Pardon Me
  5. All of That Said f. Boldy James
  6. Won’t Give Up the Danger f. Murkage Dave
  7. Moving on Up f. Conway the Machine
  8. Talking to the Audience
  9. All Money 1983
  10. Pray With an A f. Navy Blue
  11. Lost in Time Park Jams
  12. Delay the Issue f. Fly Anakin
  13. Taylor Made Suit
  14. Where We Going from Here…


You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.